Judges Profiles

Dr Helen Wright

Dr Helen Wright, Chair

Helen is a former President of the Girls’ Schools Association and Vice-Chair of ISC, with three major headships under her belt. Since 2014, she has worked in international education, and advises, recruits and coaches senior leaders in schools across the world.

David Moncrieff

David Moncrieff, Chair

David Moncrieff is the Chair of Independent School Parent’s Editorial Advisory Board. A publisher specialising in education and heritage, David previously worked as Director of Marketing at Mayfield School and for more than 12 years as Director of Marketing Services at the British Tourist Authority.

Charlotte Avery

Charlotte Avery

Charlotte is Headmistress of St Mary’s School Cambridge, GSA Vice-President, and a Governor of Haileybury College, Mill Hill School and a local 11-16 MAT. She’s an ISI team inspector and former lay member of the MoD’s Research Ethics Committee.

Durell Barnes

Durell Barnes is the former Chair of ISEB and Head of Governance and Compliance at RSAcademics, prior to which he spent many years as the public face of the Independent Schools Inspectorate.

Colin Bell

Colin Bell

Colin Bell has been the CEO of the Council of British International Schools (COBIS) since 2010. He is also an appointed member of the ministerially chaired Department for International Trade/Department for Education Sector Advisory Group. 

Louise Bennett

Louise is CEO of the Institute of Development Professionals in Education (IDPE), supporting schools to develop successful fundraising and engagement programmes, through providing training, guidance, benchmarking and partnership work across the schools’ sector. Lou has over 20 years’ experience of working across fundraising disciplines.

Robin Fletcher

Robin Fletcher

Robin Fletcher is Chief Executive of the Boarding Schools’ Association. Robin worked for 30 years as an award-winning journalist, newspaper editor and comms director. He’s also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and Honorary Fellow of Cardiff Metropolitan University.

Tory Gillingham

Tory Gillingham

Tory Gillingham is the CEO of AMCIS, Admissions, Marketing & Communications in Independent Schools, which has over 500 schools in membership. She has over 25 years marketing experience in the independent schools sector.


Gavin Horgan

Gavin joined as Headmaster of Millfield in Somerset from Worksop College, where he delivered academic turnaround. His earlier career included working in schools in Sri Lanka and Argentina before he returned to the UK as the Deputy Rector of The Glasgow Academy. Gavin has worked in senior management in the maintained, independent, and international sectors.

Irfan Latif

Irfan joined DLD College London as Principal in 2018 having had a number of leadership roles in education. He is the London Chair of the BSA and sits on the Executive Committee as the Inclusion and Diversity representative.

Jim Massey

Jim Massey has been Headmaster of Daneshill Prep School since 2018. Daneshill, founded in 1950, is a co- educational school set in rural Hampshire and situated on part of the Wellington Estate. It has around 270 children aged between three and 13.

James Priory

James Priory joined Tonbridge School as Headmaster in 2018 from Portsmouth Grammar School. He’s known for his passion for the creative arts and for his commitment to widening access.

Julie Robinson

Julie Robinson

Julie Robinson was Head of Ardingly College Junior School and Vinehall Prep School, then Education and Training Director for the Independent Association of Preparatory Schools, before becoming CEO of the Independent Schools Council.

Philippa Scudds

Philippa Scudds is a chartered marketer, with over 25 years’ experience in marketing, communications and public relations. She spent 12 years in the City, and since 2004 has focused on the education sector, working with prep, senior and all-through schools.

Donna Stevens

Donna Stevens is chief executive officer of the Girls’ Schools Association which represents 146 girls’ schools. She previously worked at the Independent Schools Council leading their research department.

Abra Stoakley

Abra Stoakley is an experienced Headteacher who has worked in schools in the United Kingdom and abroad. Currently, she is Head of School at Grange School Lagos, Nigeria, a post she has held since January 2020.

Sue Woodroofe

Sue Woodroofe

Sue Woodroofe has been a Head for 12 years, at The British School of Brussels and now at The Grammar School at Leeds. She has a particular interest in the three-18 learning journey and the benefits of multicultural and international learning environments.

Awards Timeline


16 March


27 May


4 July


7 September


9 September


Date TBC